{treechange} Informed Choices… Ethical Groceries

21 Feb

Hello, Welcome to my first  {treechange} entry!

For a long time, I felt guilty about not being greener. Not being able to DO more because I was so overwhelmed by wanting to do everything. So I did nothing. I was stuck.

I slowly came to the conclusion that changing one small thing every now and then, leads to lots of small things being changed. That amounts to a sizeable impact to be proud of. I know a lot of us feel this way so here is my contribution to help you make more ethicaly informed, healthier choices. I will try to keep this simple, I am excited about this topic and just want to share everything at once… but that is exactly not the point! Small easy bite sized pieces of information is what you will find here… small and friendly ways to change our world.

The first step…Actively making the decision to become more educated.

The simplest thing we can do is to become more educated so that we can make informed choices. I try not to be too hard on myself about this, sometimes I do make the wrong choice, sometimes I don’t know what choice to make. This will take time and there is always more to learn. But the thing I am proud of is that I do think before I act. I have made this a habit. Try to become more conscious of the choices you are presented with and you will see a big difference in how you operate. We are so entrenched in habits sometimes that we are blind to seeing an option or choice when it is in front of us!

Lets start with groceries: Do you know anything about the companies that you are supporting when you buy foods at the supermarket? I didn’t have a clue.

A really great and interesting start is to have a look at ethical.org. They supply information on all the companies stocking the shelves in a handy pocket guide.They even have a category for beer!

(Ethical Shopping Guide) from ethical.org.au

They do the hard work for you!

They show all products as having praises, criticisms and boycott calls etc. Also noted are Australian owned companies. I have the app on my phone for easy access but did start with a hardcopy. It was great to browse through now and then with a cup of tea. You will be surprised at who owns what and what they are up to! The app links you to references and resources connected to the ranking scores.

The 2010 version is viewable here and downloadable for free: Ethical Supermarket Shopping 2010 it is updated every year.

Wondering why bother? The chart below shows the issues you are dealing with every time you make a simple purchase. If not for the environment or for animal welfare, perhaps your own health and wellbeing might be a reason to start making small changes.

Chart of issues from ethical.org.au

So happy shopping! Let me know if you find anything that surprises you!

What do you think it takes to make a difference? Small things?

