Finding a Job to Keep…

24 Apr
Photo: Alicia Camenzuli - Crystal Castle Bamboo Walk

Photo: Alicia Camenzuli - Crystal Castle Bamboo Walk

It’s been a while since I’ve written. I have been busy. I am now looking for my next paid job.

It’s hard and exciting to be looking for work. My biggest fear is accepting the wrong position, jumping in too soon, forgetting why I’m after a new job in the first place. I am ready now though. I have had my rest and am rearing to get into my next challenge.

I believe that we are the sum of all our experiences and I have had quite a few. Wouldn’t it be great for employers to look at us for what we are able to do with the skills we have developed, rather than {so literally} what we have done so far as a limitation. As I have said in earlier posts, no job is going to fulfil every one of my requirements. So, still, my intention is to put my eggs in more than one basket. I am looking for something that will meet my most important expectations… If I have these, I will be happy.

* A great team of like-minded people

* A position that has challenges and responsibility

* A company that values its people and the environment

* A position where I can share and learn

Areas like creativity, hands on building, business development, creating a change, sharing my skills for humanitarian gain… These, if not at work, I can do myself, through {appletreefox} and by developing the way I live outside of work. My goal is for both areas of my life to fuel each-other. The more inspired I am at work, the more I can carry this energy to my home activities, and vice versa.

Long term, I see myself either working for and developing a company that I love, or running my own part time business, growing my own produce and creating artwork to sell. Two directions, who knows what will happen? I just want to enjoy the journey. That’s the point isn’t it. Simple, everyday, happiness. I no longer feel the need to take over the world, just to do well in whatever I do.

In the meantime… I am going to work on gathering my skills, in all those areas I have not had a chance to explore yet. I am planning to join a local permaculture group as a volunteer, start making solar power lamps out of some gourds from the farm, keep working on a vege cookbook and practice riding motorbikes. Artworks are still on the agenda, though lately I have been more interested in the garden so I’m going with that.

Health is also high on my agenda at the moment. I am back to running 4.5km twice a week. Looking to get up to three times and increase my distance. Running by the water is just beautiful. Along with running comes the need for better nutrition. I will talk about this in more detail another day.

For now though, any job ideas are welcome! Also ideas on how to choose the right position!

What opportunities are available that are beyond my expectations?

